Beginnings

Wife of a Sailor is hosting a link up today with the writing prompt: beginnings.

Beginnings could be so many different posts. I was a little overwhelmed with what to choose at first. So I decided to go back to the basics and share the beginnings of my path to being an Army wife.

About 5 years ago, I was in love with the show Army Wives. Armydad would occasionally watch it with me. One night after a great episode, I turned to him and and said, “You should join the Army so I can be an Army wife!” He got this weird look on his face. My next thought was “Oh shit! What did he do?” He told me that he had been thinking about it for several months and had been praying about how to broach the subject with me. He thought I would be completely against it. I stayed very calm and told him that I thought he should go meet with a recruiter and find out if it was doable. My top concern was the pay. I ha always heard soldiers don’t make much, so I didn’t know if we could make the career switch and take a pay cut.

It took him a few months to finally get up the nerve and go talk to a recruiter. We found out it would be a pay cut, but not as much as we had thought. And the path Armydad wanted was doable. So we spent a lot more time thinking and praying, then he finally made the leap and signed on the dotted line!

Our projected Army path has taken MANY changes since we made that decision to begin the process, but we are at a place where we are both comfortable and content.

2 thoughts on “Beginnings

  1. I love your perspective on beginnings. Thanks for linking up and joining me this week… hope you will next week, too.

Leave a Reply

