Birthday Musings

Today is Thing1’s birthday.  He is 6 years old.  Most parents have some musings, hopes, dreams, etc that float to the surface on their child’s birthday.  Things like, “I hope the Terrible Two’s are gone now” or “This is the year!  He starts school!”

I also have hopes and dreams.  I have fears as well.  I celebrate another year of his life.  I hope for a smooth easy year, with minimal medical intervention. I fear it won’t be an easy year.  But, my biggest hope and dream?  That I am stressed beyond belief at this time next year planning a 7th birthday party.

I am not a pessimist.  I am a realist.  I know that Thing1 has a severe and serious heart condition.  I know that he is at risk for sudden cardiac death. (Which does not actually mean he would die.  It means his heart would stop.  He could be resuscitated with the use of CPR and an AED. Or he could die.)

I want Thing1 to have a great year!  I want him to have a successful school year. I want him to learn a lot.  I want him to make friends.  I have the normal hopes and dreams that other parents have.  But, more than anything, I want him to live.  I pray that God’s plan is for him to live.

I am asked often how I handle this life.  Honestly, I don’t know how to answer that.  It is the only life I know.  I am so incredibly lucky to have this life.  I have a constant reminder living with me, showing me that life is precious and I need to cherish every moment.  How many people get that blessing?  I am lucky.  Every day is a blessing.  Today I spent the day cherishing my birthday boy.  Tomorrow all of our friends and local family are coming together to celebrate Thing1 (minus my husband who is back in the field.)

Here’s to another great year!  May it be even better than the last!

One thought on “Birthday Musings

  1. What is that saying? You don’t know how strong you are until strong is the only thing you can be? You exemplify that, and you sweet son has been blessed with such strong and loving parents.

Leave a Reply

