The Dreaded Big D

Armydad and I were watching Extreme Makeover: Weight Loss Edition the other night.  I commented that I should really try and lose about 20 pounds to see if it helps my back.  Then I said, “I almost wish you were deploying because it would be so much easier to lose weight if you were gone.”  He responded back with, “I probably am.”  WHAT?!?  I was only joking.

Apparently while we were gone, there was an announcement of some kind made about the next deployment.  We still have a while.  But, not nearly as long as we thought we had.  There are no official orders yet, so I know the suggested dates could change a lot in the next few months while waiting for official orders.

I am not sure how I am feeling.  A part of me thought we would get by without a deployment for Armydad’s first term.  And if he chose to stay in, he would probably have to do some more schooling, so would possibly be able to miss it for a while longer!  I know this is a normal part of Army life.  I knew when he joined that we would face this at some point.  I know we can get some stuff paid off and I can try to lose weight easier while he is gone.  But, I am scared.  There have been an unusually high number of soldiers from our base killed in action in the last few weeks.  That is scary.

On the other hand, I have several friends whose husbands are deploying between now and the time Armydad has heard they will likely deploy.  So, for the majority of the deployment, I would have buddies going through the same thing.  That would be so nice and helpful since I don’t have many friends from within his unit.

So, now we sit and wait.  Wait for official word.  Then wait for official orders.  Then wait for the day to arrive.  In the meantime, I am going to enjoy every day we have together and every holiday and birthday he is home for!

Leave a Reply

