Thankful Day 3

Today I am thankful for Thing2.  He and I butt heads constantly and he has this uncanny ability to make me lose my cool in a second, flat.  But, when I am having a bad day, he is the one I grab to cuddle with!  He is a mama’s boy!  He has started to become a bit of a daddy’s boy, but he still cries every night at bedtime if Mommy is not there to cuddle him.  (I not so secretly love it!!)  Armydad says the tears usually only last a minute or 2 and then he is fine cuddling with Daddy, but the tears are always there when I am not.

I did not bond as instantly with Thing2 as I did with Thing1.  It took a few weeks before I felt like he was really my son.  I remember the exact moment.  Our pediatrician had been concerned about his eyes when I took him in for his 2 week check up, so she referred us to an ophthalmologist.  I was sitting in the waiting room wearing my 3 week old son in a sling.  I looked down at him and started to cry because in that moment, I fell instantly, madly in love and knew that I would give my life for his without even thinking about it.  (There was nothing wrong with his eyes.)

Thing2 has changed so much over the past year.  Yesterday, Armydad looked at me and said, “He isn’t autistic!”  I looked at him in puzzlement.  Apparently when he left for Basic training he had major concerns about that due to Thing2’s developmental delays.  He was not talking, he was not social with anyone other than me, etc.  Now, he chases people down at the grocery store if they do not say “Hi” back to him.  He is talking non-stop!  He plays and interacts with other kids.  I have no concerns about autism.  Now, ADHD is another story that we may be dealing with in the future…  But, that’s okay.  We have already shown that we can handle anything thrown at us.

I am so thankful I have this little guy.  I am so thankful my boys have a brother.  I am so thankful I have my little cuddle bug, mama’s boy!

Leave a Reply

