Thankful Day 2

Today I am thankful for Thing1.  I spent a few years struggling to become a mom.  I had many down days where I thought it would never happen.  And then I got the call about Thing1.  It was like the heavens opened up and angels began singing.  I fell in love instantly.  He made me a mom.  He made me the woman I am today.

We knew from the first day that he might have medical issues, but we still chose to go forward with the placement.  The day I got the call was an especially bad day for me.  I had left work at lunchtime because I could not stop crying.  I went home and spent some time with Armydad before he went in to work.  After he left for work, I got the phone call that forever changed our life.  It was like God knew I had reached my low point that day and could not handle any more waiting.

Today I am so thankful for every day of infertility, for every down, depressed day, for every false hope given to us by our first, crummy agency.  Because all of that had to happen to bring me the child God chose for me.  I am so lucky to be his mom.

Leave a Reply

