A Hard Day

Today is a fabulous day!  Today I became an aunt again.  My baby sister had a baby boy early this morning.  Mom and baby are happy and healthy.  He is perfection in a tiny 6 pound 11 ounce package.  He is a reminder of how amazing our God is.  It just blows my mind that a fully formed and functioning being can come out of a woman’s stomach.  Amazing!

At the same time, today is one of the hardest days I have had as an Army wife.  I am 2300 miles away from my family.  I am not there to meet and hold my nephew.  I honestly do not even know if I will ever meet him as a baby.  He could be a toddler before I make it ‘home.’  We have our Disney trip coming up.  Then we have to see what happens with Thing1’s next transplant eval.  If he gets listed, he will not be able to travel without pulling him off the list.  And, I will not be willing to travel 2300 miles away from him when his pager could go off at any moment.  So, we just don’t know what the future holds for us.

I want to meet my new nephew.  I am so thankful he is healthy and I am looking forward to my first Skype date with him.  But, I am sad.  This is one of the downfalls to this lifestyle we have chosen…

Leave a Reply

