Memorial Day Annoyance!

I don’t know why this is annoying me so much.  I am sure I was guilty of this in the past…

I have seen tons of people post on Facebook and Twitter about Memorial Day.  Some have said “Happy Memorial Day!”  Ummm, what is happy about this day?  This is not a day to be celebrated.  It is a day to remember.  Secondly, why does everyone think this is a day to honor all those serving?  Today is a day we remember and honor the memory of those who gave their life for our great country.  I mean it is called MEMORIAL day.  That should not be hard to figure out or remember.

I think I am taking it too personal this year.  My husband should be getting his orders soon.  Some of the people in his class have already found out they will deploy in the next 2-3 months.  Armydad could as well.  We just don’t know.  I am realizing the families whose loved ones are missing today did not plan to have a personal claim to Memorial Day.  I am realizing this could happen to anyone serving our country.  And it scares me a little…

I am so thankful for those men and women who served and made the ultimate sacrifice.  I am thankful for the supportive families who are missing their loved ones today.  The service member and family will not be forgotten!

Leave a Reply

