Starting Over

And now I get to start over.  For me the first 2(ish) weeks of a separation have been the hardest.  Once we get through those, we are in a groove and things move along smoothly (for the most part) and even somewhat quickly.  Today I get to go back to square one and start over.  Two weeks begin again.

The worst part is that I don’t even feel like I really got to see him.  We got 8 hours one day on post.  (Do you know how hard it is to entertain and care for a 2 year old and 4 year old when you have to stay on post?  No going back to the hotel to rest.  It was exhausting!)  Then we got 9 hours off post.  So we saw him just enough for it to hurt like heck when he had to go back, but not enough for me to feel like we got an actual visit.

From here, I am not sure what will happen.  He should be at his next location for 13 weeks.  I am hopeful he will get a weekend pass or 2, so I am hoping we will not go 13 weeks without seeing him.  But if we do, I will be fine because the first 2 weeks are the hardest.  Once I surpass that, every day gets a little easier.  (Think good, strong thoughts for me over the next 2 weeks, please!)

Leave a Reply

