Proud

I am so proud of my husband.  Today he graduated from Basic training.  He survived it!  Not only did he graduate, but he also received an award!  I think only 6 awards were given and he got one!  It was for displaying values (honesty, loyalty, etc.) during training.  I am so impressed with him.  Out of about 160 people graduating, he was one of only 6 to get recognition.  And he was also one of the oldest people to graduate today!

He thinks he got the award because of Thing1’s heart condition.  When the drill sergeants found out about Thing1, they offered him an out.  He could get an honorable discharge rushed through ahead of others in order to be home in time for the transplant evaluation.  He said no.  They asked again the day of the cardiac catheterization if he wanted out.  He said no, again.  He made a choice and a commitment.  He did not want to walk away.  He had mentioned this to me, but I did not realize to what extent it was known.  Apparently all of the guys in his barracks and all of the drill sergeants know about Thing1 and ask about him.  Several people asked upon meeting us if Thing1 was the child they have heard all about.  They are all impressed and amazed that Armydad was able to stay focused and complete Basic and, even more so, that he wanted to!

Graduation was amazing.  It was so moving.  I cried!  They played American Soldier by Toby Keith.  It was a slide show with pictures of soldiers.    This part was paired with pictures of flag draped caskets:

And I will always do my duty, no matter what the price,
I’ve counted up the cost, I know the sacrifice,
Oh, and I don’t want to die for you,
But if dying’s asked of me,
I’ll bear that cross with an honor,
‘Cause freedom don’t come free.

I was a mess!  You see, it is well known (and blog documented) that we have crummy luck with medical stuff.  It just is the way it is.  So, based on past experience, a part of me expects my husband to make the ultimate sacrifice for his country.  I have expected this from Day 1.  And I still encouraged him to join.  (Am I nuts or what?)  However, I also am a huge believer that God chooses when we die.  He knows the day we enter this Earth when we will leave this Earth.  So, really it does not matter.  Whether Armydad joined the Army or not, he is going to die on the day he is going to die.  It is just that a part of me expects to be the wife meeting the flag covered casket.  So, seeing the pictures today was very emotional for me.

(Please do not be worried that I am depressed, despondent, not in love with my husband, etc.  As a result of Thing1’s medical issues, I have been forced to encounter my fear of losing a loved one head on.  I no longer fear it.  After MUCH prayer, some of it yelling at God, I have come to peace with it.  I do not want to lose my husband or my child and I know, if I do, it will be the most difficult challenge I will encounter in my life, but I also know there is a greater plan that I am not privy to and sometimes bad things happen to good people.  I feel my way of thinking is healthier.  I don’t stress and worry about it.  I just enjoy every single day I get and treasure it as if it were the last day we have together!  Every new day is a blessing from God!)

It was an amazing, moving ceremony.  I am so proud of my husband.  I am proud he is willing to give his life for people he does not even know.  For people who think funding should be cut to troops.  For people who protest against the government.  For all people in this great country of ours.  (And I am proud of myself that I also am willing to sacrifice for all of the people in the United States of America!)  HOOAH!

Leave a Reply

