Modesty

I have an issue that is swimming around in my head.  I am unsure how I should approach this.  So, I am going to the internet!

At what age should a child of the opposite sex no longer see a parent in the nude?  About a year ago, when Thing1 was 3 1/2 I decided it was time.  He did not need to see me without clothes on.  So, Armydad would run interference for me.  If I was showering or changing, I would close the door and let Armydad deal with any issues that arose.  Well, that no longer works.  Now, I feel like there is not a way I can keep him from seeing me.  When I shower, I still have to be accessible.  If I choose to take a bath, both boys often end up sitting on the bathroom floor playing with toys while I bathe.  I cannot even count the number of times Thing1 has come running in while I am bathing to tell me that Thing2 is doing something he is not supposed to.  (For example, standing on the counter in the kitchen trying to get the cookies off the top of the refrigerator.  True story.)  So, I cannot lock myself in the bathroom and make the boys stay out.

So, here is my question:  To military moms, how do you handle this?  Is there a certain age or developmental point where you have to enforce a modesty policy?  How do you make it work when your spouse is gone?  To civilian (umm, I just started to type regular.  Freudian slip, maybe??) moms, how do you handle this?  I am curious to see if the answers are different for military and civilian moms!

2 thoughts on “Modesty

  1. Things that work at my house: Movies (or PBS), bribes, and the pack and play when desperate – can thing2 escape that yet? Also, I’ve had to alter my shower times before – either late at night or while my thing2 is napping.

    If all else fails…duct tape.

    Kidding.

  2. I haven’t come across this point yet, but I’m starting to think it’s time for my hubby to stop showering with my 2 year old daughter. She’s becoming curious about things.

    I think once the kids are old enough to knock and talk through a door, it’s time to say “You must knock and enter ONLY if I say it’s okay. If not, you need to talk to me through the door.” I don’t remember how my parents handled this, I was the youngest and my brothers were 6 and 4 years older than me. If my dad wasn’t around, my brothers took care of me for the few minutes it took my mom to shower.

Leave a Reply

