Evaluated

I really thought there would be a 2 hour delay today for school.  Which would have meant Thing2’s evaluation for special needs preschool would have been cancelled.  I was so sure there would be a delay, I stayed up way too late last night thinking I could lounge around this morning.  I was wrong.  There was no delay.  We had to leave the house at 8am.  I am worn out.

I had to take Thing1 with me.  (I did not attempt to make other arrangements because I did not plan on actually having this evaluation today!)  I am so proud of Thing1.  He did awesome.  He sat and colored quietly for a bit.  Then he sat on my lap and cuddled with me for a bit.  He stayed quiet and let Thing2 answer all questions for the entire time!  He is getting so big!

Thing2 did much better than I expected.  I thought he would flat out refuse to do anything asked of him.  He only refused about half the time!  He actually attempted to answer some of the questions and to complete some of the tasks asked of him.  And he qualifies.  Big shock there!  (Note the sarcasm.)  He has some fairly significant delays in both speech and cognitive areas, so we knew he would qualify.  He will be able to start preschool on his third birthday.  He will go 4 mornings a week.  Thing1 goes 5 afternoons a week.  Sigh.  I cannot catch a break.  Oh well.  At least I will be able to run all my errands with only one kid in tow instead of 2…

Leave a Reply

