Ready. Set. MOVE!!!!

Things have been a zoo lately.  How much of a zoo?  Here is a little recap:  On Friday August 6, I took my 2 foster daughters to an appointment three hours away.  While there, I got a call from the realtor.  We got an offer on our house!  It was a really terrible offer, though.  We countered, she countered, we countered, she thought for a few days.  Finally on Tuesday (the 10th) we got an acceptable verbal offer.  Made it official on paper the next day.  The only hitch: she wanted to take possession on August 24!!!!  We spent the next 13 days rushing to get inspections, appraisals, etc. for the house and to find a place for us to live.  On Monday August 23, we moved into an apartment.  We are still in the same town.  (I did not want to pull Thing 1 out of his school if I could avoid it.)  It is a small, 2 bedroom apartment.  As a result, our foster daughters had to be moved elsewhere.  We have been here for a week and a day.  We are all settled in.  Pictures are on the walls.  Every box has been unpacked and every item put in its place.  And we have been this way for the past 4 days!

Armydad came home from work late last week one day and announced that I will make an awesome Army wife!  I rolled with the punches, found a place, got us completely packed and unpacked by myself (he had one day off between the time we got the offer and 5 days post move.)  I very quickly made our apartment a home for my children.  He says this will suit me well in the future!

I am so thankful things have worked out the way they have.  We are now under 3 months until Armydad leaves.  So, enough time for the kids to feel settled and secure here before we throw another big change on them.  Armydad is loving the break from fostering and having the time and attention to give our kids.  It has just worked out so perfectly.  I feel like I am one step closer to starting the Army life.  (Which both terrifies and excites me!)

Leave a comment