A Weekend Away

I took Thing 1 and Thing 2 to my mom’s house this weekend by myself.  I was co-hosting a baby shower for my sister.  It is not uncommon for me to take the boys to mom’s alone.  I do it once every couple months.  (Armydad’s schedule does not allow for many weekends off.)  Usually it does not bother me.  I am so busy chasing kids, visiting with family, and generally being out of routine that I barely find time to talk on the phone with Armydad, let alone miss him.  This weekend I was just as busy as usual.  But, I could not stop thinking of him.  I kept thinking in 9 months this will be my life, indefinitely.  I will be alone with the kids all the time, not just when traveling.  I missed him this weekend.  I wanted to rush home and spend as much time with him as I can before our Army separation.  I feel this will be a long separation.  Followed by many more even longer separations…

Leave a Reply

